Nobel Prize ceremony 2013

On 10 December 2013 particle physics took central stage at the Nobel ceremony in Stockholm. Among the invitees were Fabiola Gianotti, former ATLAS spokesperson, Joseph Incandela, CMS Spokesperson, and CERN theorist Luis Alvarez-Gaume. They share their feelings of the memorable day with us.


Overview of the 2013 Nobel Prize Award Ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall. © Nobel Media AB 2013. Photo: Alex Ljungdahl. Fabiola Gianotti and Joe Incandela, at the Nobel Banquet in the Stockholm City Hall.


"It was an honour and a thrill for us to attend such a memorable Nobel prize ceremony and we are very grateful to Peter Higgs for having included us among his invited guests.

The ceremony held some special moments for the LHC. In his speech prior to the award of the Nobel prize to Francois Englert and Peter Higgs by King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden, Lars Brink (Chair of the Physics Nobel Prize Committee) stressed the importance of the results from the LHC experiments in 2012 and 2013.

Peter Higgs echoed this in a dinner speech on behalf of himself and François Englert. After remembering Robert Brout and others who made important theoretical contributions, he praised the thirty years of superb work on the machine and experiments that led to the discovery."

Fabiola Gianotti and Joe Incandela


François Englert receiving his Nobel Prize. © Nobel Media AB 2013. Photo: Alexander Mahmoud.

Peter Higgs delivering his speech at the Nobel Banquet. © Nobel Media AB 2013. Photo: Helena Paulin-Strömberg.

"It was great to celebrate the apotheosis of the Standard Model with many friends from CERN and all over the world.

We had the privilege of talking to people like David Gross, Frank Wilczek, Gerard 't Hooft, Carlo Rubbia, Chris Llewelyn-Smith, Lars Brink and many others.

Our favourite laureates, Englert and Higgs, were walking on a cloud. A beautiful ceremony. The Swedish really know how to throw a party. Unforgettable."

Luis Alvarez-Gaume

For more information, pictures and videos on the 2013 Nobel Prize Award Ceremony, go to