Innovation for a better life: IdeaSquare to host a panel discussion for the 2016 Millennium Technology Prize

The one-million-euro Millennium Technology Prize promotes technological innovations that improve the quality of people’s lives. A series of panel discussions are being held worldwide to draw attention to the themes of the prize and to promote nominations for high-calibre candidates for the 2016 award. For the first time, IdeaSquare has been chosen as one of the venues and CERN people are invited to take part. Save the date: 30 June, 3 p.m.


The Millennium Technology Prize was established in 2004 by the Technology Academy Finland (TAF), an independent foundation whose mission is “to promote innovations that improve the quality of people’s lives in a sustainable manner”. Awarded every other year, the prize has already recognised the work of seven great innovators who developed technological innovations to tackle the great challenges of mankind: learning, health and a clean environment.

The first prize was awarded to Tim Berners-Lee for the World Wide Web. Eleven years later, CERN’s IdeaSquare has been chosen to co-host a panel discussion focusing on “Sensory and imaging technology in science, health and security”. Moderated by Luke Collins, Editor of the Tech Design Forum, the panellists* will discuss the current and future potential as well as the societal impact of these breakthrough technologies.

The event is targeted at potential nominators for the Millennium Technology Prize, i.e. the academic and business community, including the CERN audience. The number of places available at IdeaSquare for the CERN audience is limited to 30. You are therefore invited to register by Monday, 22 June.

A webcast will also be available throughout the event and an informal drinks reception will be provided in Restaurant 2 after the discussion to allow an opportunity for all the participants to interact with the panellists and the members of the foundation.

*The panellists are: Professor Peter Dendooven, KVI-CART, University of Groningen, and Professor at the Helsinki Institute of Physics; Dr Andrea Cuomo, Executive Vice-President, ST Microelectronics; Dr Sergio Bertolucci, Director of Research and Computing, CERN.

by Antonella Del Rosso