CERN's LHC is awarded the 2012 EPS Edison Volta Prize

The European Physical Society (EPS), the Centro di Cultura Scientifica “Alessandro Volta” and Edison S.p.A. have awarded the 2012 EPS Edison Volta Prize for outstanding contributions to physics to three CERN physicists.


The award was given to:

• Rolf-Dieter Heuer, CERN Director-General,
• Sergio Bertolucci, CERN Director for Research and Computing,
• Stephen Myers, CERN Director for Accelerators and Technology,

for having led - building on decades of dedicated work by their predecessors - the culminating efforts in the direction, research and operation of the CERN Large Hadron Collider (LHC), which resulted in many significant advances in high energy particle physics, in particular, the first evidence of a Higgs-like boson in July 2012.

To learn more, check out e-EPS News.

by CERN Bulletin